lantern at kifune Shrine
Kifune Shrine

Kyoto, which belongs to the Kansai area, was once the capital of Japan (794-1869). And the prefectural capital city is Kyoto City.
Kyoto is known for its many historic temples, shrines, gardens, and traditional wooden houses, including 17 spots constituting World Heritage Site.

five-storied pagoda at Hokan-ji Temple
Five-storied pagoda of Hokan-ji Temple (Yasaka-no-to)

It is also world famous as a tourist destination. Kiyomizu-dera Temple, Arashiyama, Gion, Amanohashidate, Kinkakuji and Ginkakuji Temples, and many other spots attract many visitors from Japan and abroad.

Kyoto Tower
Kyoto Tower

There are many hotels and inns in Kyoto, and accommodations can be found at relatively reasonable prices.
It is also an excellent base for traveling to other prefectures in the Kansai region, as it is approximately 10 minutes to Shiga, 30 minutes to Osaka, 45 minutes to Nara, and 1 hour to Hyogo by train.

Sponsor link


Click the photo below to see more details about the spot.