Nandaimon at Nara Park
Todaiji Temple

Nara Prefecture has a long history, and it was the capital of Japan in the Nara Period(710-784). And the prefectural capital city is Nara City.
There are three UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nara Prefecture.

1. Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara

2. Buddhist Monuments in the Horyu-ji Area

3. Mozu-Furuichi Kofun Group: Mounded Tombs of Ancient Japan

deer with Nandaimon
You can see many deer at Nara Park

Nara City is the popular tourist destination, which includes eight heritage sites that make up the “Historic Monuments of Ancient Nara”. And these heritage sites are easily accessible from the city center.

Nara Prefecture belongs to Kinki Region, also known as Kansai.
Kinki Region is the core region of western Japan and includes seven prefectures, Nara, Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Wakayama, Mie, Shiga.

It takes about 45minutes – 1hour from Kyoto and Osaka to Nara City(prefectural capital) by train.

Sponsor link


Click the photo below to see more details about the spot.