Cherry blossom and Mount Fuji

Yamanashi Prefecture is located south of Tokyo. Together with Nagano and Niigata Prefecture is sometimes referred to as “Koshinetsu”, or the three Koshinetsu prefectures and the Kanto region (Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Gunma, Tochigi, and Ibaraki) as “Kanto Koshinetsu”.

Sponsor link

Yamanashi Prefecture and Mount Fuji

Arakurayama Sengen Park
Arakurayama Sengen Park

Mount Fuji, a symbolic mountain of Japan and a World Heritage Site in 2013, straddles both Yamanashi and Shizuoka prefectures.
Therefore, there are many spots in Yamanashi Prefecture that offer views of Mount Fuji. For example the Fuji Five Lakes (Lake Yamanakako, Lake Kawaguchiko, Lake Saiko, Lake Shojiko, and Lake Motosuko), which were created by the eruption of Mount Fuji, and Arakurayama Sengen Park, where Mount Fuji and the five-story pagoda can be seen together.

Yamanakako Panoramic Observatory
Yamanakako Panoramic Observatory

Fruit Kingdom Yamanashi

Yamanashi Prefecture produces many fruits, especially “grapes”, “peaches” and “plums”, and is the largest producer of these fruits in Japan.
In addition, the wine called “Koshu Wine” made from “Koshu Grape” produced in Yamanashi Prefecture is known as the representative wine of Japan.


Click the photo below to see more details about the spot.